Managing Your Expectations!

 I happen to run a HR consultancy (You know that by now I’m sure) and come in contact with a lot of clueless graduates who live in la la land and have no idea that their expectations can only be met in Eldorado.

So today, I just want to talk to you about life after school, Nigeria’s labour market and most especially your expectations about work. If statistics are anything to go by, as things presently stand:

  • 40 million youths between 18 and 25 years are unemployed
  • 1 out of every 5 adults in Nigeria is unemployed and just 1 out of every 10 university graduates gets a job!
  • 80% of the country’s university graduates are unemployable!

I didn’t conjure the figures, sadly.

For those of you about to graduate, through with school or rounding off NYSC, the thoughts I’m sharing today are specifically for you.

While it’s important to be ambitious in seeking opportunities, it’s also useful to blend expectations with your level of education and experience. You are a fresh graduate with little or no experience. The situation in the job market is dire. Unemployment is at its peak. So you are somewhat disadvantaged compared to your more experienced contemporaries who have worked for a couple of years and possess skills they can show off to prospective employers.

Bearing that in mind, when a job opportunity presents itself, be careful not to price yourself our of the job market. Do your homework, what are wages like within that industry? How much do people with your level of skill and experience earn generally? Looking at the employer and the value you are offering, how much should you ask for? If you still cannot come up with a range, play safe and throw the ball back in their court. Ask them to make you an offer bearing in mind that they definitely have a budget for that position.

Having said all that it’s important to stress the fact that experience is more important than what you earn especially as a fresh graduate. To get to a place where you have all the aces, you need experience. Display some flexibility and enthusiasm! And even if what you’re offered is below what you expected, take the offer and learn! It increases your marketability and makes you more attractive to other employers.

All the very best.

Naomi Lucas

Graduate Pro

Published by: GraduatePro

GraduatePro was established with the sole aim of bridging the gap between graduates and today’s workplace. Using the power of audio-visuals, young people’s attraction to the creative industries and the current pervasiveness of Internet and mobile technology, Graduatepro will reverse the scourge of unemployment in Africa, one graduate at a time.

Categories Uncategorized10 Comments

10 thoughts on “Managing Your Expectations!”

  1. Wow! I cnt tel u hw hapi i am wen i got 2 knw of dis blog. I’m a 3rd clas graduate frm adamawa state uni n based in yola. My own case is kinda wierd. I mean, hw i ended up wit a 3rd clas. Bt nutin can b don abt it nw. Am alrdy in d ‘favour’ mkt nw(dats my hop). I knw deep down within me dat i am a vry “flexible, dependably dynamic” pesin. Pls hlp me. I av sum ideas dat am nursin abt startn up sumtn. I’l b vry hapi if u’l hlp me realis my drms of becomin a bigtym employa of labor. I mean it. Tnx.

    Like

  2. Hello, Naomi, thanks for the encouragement. Really means alot, i’m actually looking towards working as a graphic artist, i have knowledge of coreldraw and currently learning photoshop and hopefully web design. Any hopefuls for me? Thanks a million for the encouragement again

    Like

  3. i just joined this site, recommended to me by afriend..may god bliss you for all the attentions you all have being putting to make life easy, on jobs issue…am 32yrs of age, lower credit, a mechanical engineer (power plant) please i know you dont do this…but am desperate in need of a job, how can you help

    Like

  4. Hi, Naomi. I just read your post on nairaland, like i said there, i need help drawing up a good cv, but truthfully, what are d chances of getting a job with a 3rd class, and at age 32. Looking forward to hearing from you

    Like

    1. Hi Mannix, thanks for reading and my apologies for just responding to your request. Drafting a good CV is an art that can be learned by anybody. Pls follow the blog so you can get alerts when I post. The next 5 topics I’m posting will be directed at third class graduates, CV and cover letter writing. Lastly my dear, age is but a number… You can visit http://www.hrfactoryvacancies.wordpress.com I’m currently recruiting Marketing executives. If you can convince me, the job is yours…

      Like

  5. Thanks Naomi for all the advice you’ve been giving out on this blog. God bless you! Please,how can i send my CV to your HR agency. Thank you

    Like

Hey, Don't Be Shy, Drop A Comment :)

