Career Expose: ‘Do not dwell on past failures or focus on regrets’ – Patience Ifere, Professional Makeup Artiste & Beauty Consultant

 

The ever resilient, detailed, focused, passion driven, and hardworking Patience is our featured guest today on career expose. In this interview, she talks about her journey to success, detailing how you can succeed in a saturated sector, while maintaining your uniqueness. Enjoy!

GP: Describe yourself in a sentence.

PA: I am a hardworking, service and passion driven person who puts integrity first and faces each day with a willingness to constantly re-invent myself.

GP: What do you do?

PA: I am a Professional Makeup artist and Beauty Consultant based in Plateau State, Nigeria.

GP: How did you start out? 

PA: I started out in 1998 while in the school of pharmacy -Jos,  as a freelance makeup artist with no training, nothing but my God-given talent of having an artistic hand and mind, love for colours attention to details. My first kit was made up of bits and pieces of makeup given to me in a small bag by my angel aunt Aby. Where would I have gotten the money to start? Thank you, ma! It wasn’t about the money at first. I worked hard and studied all I could to keep up with the then booming beauty industry. I was almost always online. Patels was then registered in 2006 with the C.A.C. As my clientele grew. I knew I needed to touch base with others in the industry. So I had my first training in 2007 in Lagos. I did a lot of training that weren’t certified. But I made sure I bagged a certification at cardinal points such as with Buntricia as an HD makeup artist, with Khuraira as a KPro  Airbrush Expert and so on. And since then I have sought personal and professional development every year as the opportunity presented itself. I started out with only brow grooming clients and 1 bride back in 1998. 19years down the line, my business has catered to hundreds of brides, over 100 models and beauty queens, dignitaries, ambassadors and esteemed clients everywhere. We also have a great reputation for training and infusing as much knowledge as we have to give. Our trainees are doing great work within and outside the country and we take pride in this. My job as a makeup artist has taken me all over the country Nigeria and even beyond our shores to Cairo, Egypt.

I started out with only brow grooming clients and 1 bride back in 1998. 19years down the line, my business has catered to hundreds of brides, over 100 models and beauty queens, dignitaries, ambassadors and esteemed clients everywhere.

We also have a great reputation for training and infusing as much knowledge as we have to give. Our trainees are doing great work within and outside the country and we take pride in this. My job as a makeup artist has taken me all over the country and even beyond our shores to Cairo, Egypt. The exposure to different cultures has allowed me to broaden my scope of thinking and increased my wealth of knowledge. Today I can only give gratitude to God almighty and to everyone who believed in me and my brand.

GP: That was a lot of consistency right there. What will you say are the highlights of your career so far? 

PA: -I was opportuned to travel all over the country within these 19years on account of this skill. I have been to places such as Yobe, borno, kano, Kaduna, Adamawa, Gombe, Kogi, Kwara, Ogun, Oyo, Lagos, Abuja, Anambra, Enugu, Imo, Bauchi, Jigawa, Benue, Calabar, etc

– We catered to the Makeup needs of the Wife and family of the Last Governor of Plateau State (The Jang Family) on many occasions.

-I have attended to ambassadors and other dignitaries.

– I have been to Cairo, Egypt to handle a beautiful bride and the entire family.

-I handled the makeover and dressing of pageants some of whom became beauty queens. To mention a few, Elshama Igbanoi (Queen Nigeria 2010, Miss Plateau 2009/2010), Miss. Halima Abashe (Queen Nigeria 2009, Miss Plateau 2008/2009), etc

-Element 6 training back in 2007

-Buntricia’s Total Package Training back in 2004

– Kpro Airbrush Makeup Training back in 2015

– I have trained hundreds of reputable makeup artists doing great work in the industry. I am proud to be a stepping stone for reputable artist such as Fati of mamzabeauty, Nafi of Uzozasignature, Shola of blushingirltools, etc.

GP: Very Impressive. What does your job entail?

PA: To be a professional Makeup artist and beauty consultant you need to know about the skin and about makeup products. You need to get some professional training and keep updated often.

It entails knowing hands on Brow grooming techniques, lashes fixing procedures, catering to the makeup needs of clients and knowing how to use makeup to bring out the best face of the client or to create the impression you want to. It also demands you know how to tie (gele) the head gear on many occasions and so constant upgrade and practice is needed there as well.I do makeup (in any sphere) but I also train others to do

I do makeup (in any sphere) but I also train others to do makeup as well. I take my time to try to harness the skill inherent in the trainee thus empowering them to launch out and be self-sufficient. I am partial to the Clean beat so I try to infuse that in my trainees.

I also consult on skin issues and give advice on skin care procedures as well as proffer therapeutic remedy to skin problems.

GP: What are the key requirements to excelling in your line of work?

To excel in this line of work, you need discipline, determination, a good professional attitude and integrity. You need to be detailed and meticulous. You need to upgrade every chance you get. Personal and Professional development cannot be over-emphasized. You need to have the passion for driving you forward. And you need a good accounting system.

GP: What advice do you have for those who want to follow in your footsteps?

PA: Don’t focus on the money or on the successes or bad words of others. Focus on being the best you can be. Push yourself forward always. Do not dwell on past failures or focus on regrets. Take it one step at a time. Rome wasn’t built in a day. You will get there and even sooner than you know. I may not be where I should be but I know I am not where I used to be. PUSH!

GP: Any contact details for people who want to reach you?

PA: IG: @patelsdexterity, Fb: www.facebook.com/patelsplace, Email: patoks717@yahoo.com, Patel717@yahoo.com

Address: Patels Place, No.2 Barrack Road, off Ahmadu Bello Way, Jos, Plateau State.

*****

To the aspiring or emerging career professional, we hope you enjoyed our interview with Patience. If you did, be sure to let us know in the comments section. Join us again next week Wednesday as we bring you interesting spotlights on our all new Career Expose series. Have a great week ahead.

 

About Patience:

Patel is named Patience Atokase Ozohu Ifere. She is First of four children born to Mr. and Mrs. John Legbeti. She is married and is a mother to an exceptional little girl. She hails from Edo State but was born in Kaduna State. She has lived in Jos, Plateau State all her life. She is a graduate of Baptist High School, Jos and is also a Practising Pharmacist who received her training from the University of Jos.

 

Graduatepro

2 thoughts on “Career Expose: ‘Do not dwell on past failures or focus on regrets’ – Patience Ifere, Professional Makeup Artiste & Beauty Consultant”

  1. Patel sure is a great mentor and she’s ever ready to give her support! And she’s passionate about the makeup industry which is awesome! #unsungheroine

    Like

Hey, Don't Be Shy, Drop A Comment :)

